TUESDAY, JAN. 9, 2007

(601) 969-2913
Dowdy praises minimum wage bill

JACKSON (Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2007) – Wayne Dowdy, chairman of the Mississippi Democratic Party, praised fellow Democrats and the Democratic leadership in the state House for voting today to increase the minimum wage.

The proposal, which passed 68-50 in a vote that fell largely along party lines, would raise the minimum wage in Mississippi from $5.15 an hour to $6.25 an hour on July 1 and to $7.25 an hour on Jan. 15, 2008.

“This bill would be a great help for the working men and women in our state who often struggle to support a family while earning the minimum wage,” Dowdy said. “This will go a long way toward helping them cover the day-to-day cost of living."

Dowdy in particular commended state Reps. Harvey Moss of Corinth, the House Labor Committee chairman, and Ricky Cummings of Iuka, who presented the bill to fellow House members. Cummings was the bill’s main sponsor.

Dowdy also said he was surprised to see support for the bill fall so strongly along party lines. Just one of the House’s 47 Republicans voted for the bill.

Even the House’s two newest members, Republicans Harvey Fillingane of Sumrall and Ken Morgan of Morgantown, voted against the bill designed to help low-income families in the state better themselves.

The bill is expected to eventually head to the Senate for consideration and then, if it passes, to Republican Gov. Haley Barbour for his signature.

Dowdy suggested that people around the state tell their lawmakers regardless of party to support the bill – especially if it faces a gubernatorial veto. Mississippians can call their lawmakers, including Fillingane and Morgan, at the state Capitol by dialing (601) 359-3770

“This is an important bill and all lawmakers need to know the people support it and want it,” Dowdy said.

• • •

NOTE: You can see how your lawmaker voted on this bill and other key legislation from the 2007 Mississippi Legislature by visiting the Mississippi Democratic Party Web site, Click the link at the bottom of the page to see how your House member voted.

# # #